Symphony No. 3 "ex nihilio"

Symphony No. 3, subtitled “ex nihilo” was written for Captain Brian O. Walden and the US Navy Band. While a traditional symphony has four movements – fast, slow, dance movement and finale,  Symphony No. 3 alludes to these four parts yet is complete in a single movement. The work explores multiple tonal worlds that appear individually, overlapping in conflict and in consort. Various themes associated with each area interact as individuals in a drama. The final section of the work propels it to a powerful resolution in B major followed by silence and the reflective echoes of pervious tonalities and themes like ghostly remnants of a dream. The work is dedicated to William Hipp, musician,  educator and mentor.

Duration: c.13 minutes

Listen on YouTube

Download the Full Score as PDF file

(requires Adobe Acrobat reader version 5 or later)


PDF parts $250.

Printed Score parts $600.